Just Dessert.

Saturday 5th February 2011

My post for today is being hijacked by MS. This was totally his idea, from concept to execution.

MW and I had been told to sit on our bed while MS prepared something for us to eat in the kitchen. Sitting on the bed together is something we all do a lot at all times of the day, so I didn’t need much persuading.

After a good 15 minutes of listening to MS crashing about getting plates and cutlery together, the first of our treats appeared.

It was a little Moroccan tea glass filled with grenadine syrup
& water. We were told to sip this while we waited for the
next course to arrive.

We obliged.

We were then presented with 3 beautifully arranged dishes of fruit. One with strawberries & cream another with banana and fresh orange and the last with grapes, banana, plum and of course squirty cream.

They were placed in the middle of the bed and I was asked to take a photo of it.

I obliged.

Of course, we both lavished him with praise to which he replied,

“It’s not something you’d expect from a 7-year-old, is it?”

We all spent the next few minutes eating and making satisfied noises while we sat on the bed together.

“So, what shall we call it then? A trio of desserts? or mixed fruit platters? or desserts x3?” MW and I prompted.

He paused pensively before saying,

“No, just dessert. That’s what I want to call it. Just dessert.”

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Dessert.

  1. Stef says:

    It’s lovely! You are raising quite a foodie; and a wonderfully thoughtful and considerate one at that. Terrific.

Leave a Reply

