Chili Con Carne.

Thursday 10th February 2011

I was telling MS that when I was a boy chili con carne was the height of fashion along with spaghetti Bolognese and vol au vents. MM was an early adopter to cooking something other than the ‘meat & two veg’ that she had been brought up on.

“Was it like gold?” He asked.
“Kind of…” I said with a confused look on my face. “…what did you think of it?
“It’s ok but pizza is better…No, no, what I really want to say is it’s hot!, with an exclamation mark at the end.”

We had strawberries for dessert, from Huelva.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dairy-Free, Dinner, Rice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chili Con Carne.

  1. Stef says:

    I have never heard of “vol au vents” – so I looked it up. Ah… then I “got” it.

    I am also slightly confused by your son’s “Was it like gold?” question. It’s funny how children’s minds work some days… 🙂

  2. Julian Jahanpour says:

    Oh yum – the chile con carne looks delicious! Such a great colour. I like it nice and hot myself!

  3. roger edwards says:

    i think the poached egg and bubble n squeak was surely photographed at claridges!!!
    looks lovely

Leave a Reply

