Bubble n’ Squeak, Poached Egg & Green Beans.

Friday 11th February 2011

This is how I do my poached eggs. I got the method from the tele.

I’ve tried poaching pans and special cups that you place in boiling water and this is the only thing that has worked for me. I hope it works for you too, let me know.

Put a small pan of water on to boil. Add a little clear white vinegar to the boiling water. While the egg is still in the shell submerge it in the boiling water for about 10 seconds. (This congeals the egg inside a bit.) Once the water is boiling turn it down to a rolling boil and then stir the water until you have a fast-ish whirlpool effect. The centre of this whirlpool is where you want to put the your, slightly congealed, egg. The centrifugal force wraps the egg into itself thus poaching it into a neat little parcel. Leave the egg to cook for about 2 minutes or however long you like your egg cooked. Remember to drain the egg properly before putting it on top of the bubble n’ squeak or it’ll go a bit soggy.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Eggs, Lunch, Organic, Potatoes, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bubble n’ Squeak, Poached Egg & Green Beans.

  1. Stef says:

    Another educational post for me – I had never heard the term “Bubble n’ Squeak” before! I looked at the picture for a hint; alas, the egg had covered it. So I turned to my friend Google, and learned what it was. Fun.

    The presentation of your plate is lovely; I hope your son enjoyed!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    You make the perfect poached egg. Nice and firm egg white and not slimy yet lovely runny yolk. And I love bubble and squeak.

Leave a Reply

