Creamy Vegetable Soup with Crusty Bread.

Saturday 19th February 2011

I always feel like soup is a tough one for kids to eat because although it is a liquid and therefore easy to masticate and swallow you can’t pick up very much with a spoon and have to make return journeys often to get more. This repetitive action then becomes boring very quickly and so the kids gets fed up with what’s in front of him.

Well, this is my experience with MS. He starts off well but after just a few spoonfuls he decides that the accompanying bread looks like the easier option.

At least once a week he has either soup or a puree on the menu for lunch at school. So I asked him how the other kids got on with it.

“First of all they have about 5 or 6 spoonfuls and if they don’t like it they just eat the bread and drink the water.”

“And what do you do?” I enquired.

“Eat it.” He replied looking at me incredulously.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Creamy Vegetable Soup with Crusty Bread.

  1. Stef says:

    The dark bread in your photo looks delicious – did you bake it? Or did a bakery provide it?

  2. roger edwards says:

    soup looks yummy

Leave a Reply

