Roasted Rabbit with Potatoes, Grilled Courgettes and Green Cauliflower.

Sunday 20th February 2011

I must have been about the same age as MS, seven, when a man turned up at my nan & grandad’s house and was told, by my grandad, to go round the back to the garden. He had been up the woods shooting rabbits and had thought that MN&G would like ‘one for the pot’ as he put it.

I followed MG to the bottom of the garden where his friend proceeded to skin the animal. I remember him hanging it by it’s back legs from the shed door, making cuts around the paws and then slowly pulling the skin down the whole length of the body as if he was turning it inside out. All done in a matter of fact way. Very deliberate and skillfully done. I didn’t find it scary or gorey just interesting how quickly it was all done and dusted.

The rabbit that I got was already skinned but whole, so I had to take out the liver & kidneys before cutting it into pieces. MS was sitting behind me in the kitchen as I was cutting it up and I could feel him looking at what I was doing. After I had finished I said;

“What do you think then?”

“It’s gross…” He said. “…you can see all his insides.”

And then he turned and walked away.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Rabbit with Potatoes, Grilled Courgettes and Green Cauliflower.

  1. Stef says:

    I have to agree with your son on that one…But the potatoes and veggies look wonderful! 🙂 Green cauliflower; I’ve never heard of such a thing…

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    What a wonderful feast this was. Thanks for making such an effort. A lovely end to a great weekend. Have never eaten rabbit made like this at home and I look forward to having it again!

Leave a Reply

