Cheesy Meatballs & Spaghetti.

Thursday 24th February 2011

It seems my little man still hasn’t regained his appetite. On the walk home from school I told him what I had made for dinner.

“Err gross! You can’t have meatballs & cheese together or cheese & meatballs.”

“Why’s that?” I said.

“You just can’t…it’s gross!”

However, it did get better.

“Umm, it looks good…” He said as he came to the table. “…it smells good but will it taste good?”

Unfortunately, after only but a few mouthfuls he conceded;

“I’ve had a bit. It looks good and it tastes good but I just haven’t got the appitite…put 8 out of 10 Daddy.”

Never mind, I’ll stick it in the freezer.

They are called ‘cheesy meatballs’ because I stuffed each meatball with cheese before cooking it. I saw it on a tv program years ago.
The sauce is made up of onions, garlic, bacon, tomato puree & half a bottle of red wine. I cooked the meatballs before and added them to the sauce before cooking it all for a further 1 1/2 hours.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheesy Meatballs & Spaghetti.

  1. Stef says:

    This is where your son and I part ways – cheese and meatballs together (especially in red sauce) are FAB! Heck, cheese and anything together is usually a wonderful pairing. 🙂

    Poor guy; sounds like he’s not quite himself. At least he was gracious and gave you 8 out of 10.

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yet again I disagree with the little man. I thoroughly enjoyed these meatballs including the left-overs for lunch the next day. I remember the ones you made years ago and haven’t stopped bugging you to make them again and these lived up to expectations! lets hope I don’t have to wait so long to have them again! I also loved the sautéd veg that went with it.

Leave a Reply

