Crêpe au sucre et au citron.

Friday 25th February 2011

We are lucky enough to be able to go to France often. MW and I have tried to go at least once a year even before MS was born.
Primarily, we went for the food. There are so many things we look forward to almost as soon as we cross the border. Moules et frite, brie, beurre, pan au chocolat, pâté, Noël bière at Christmas, steak hashe, raw goats cheese, haricots verts and of course crêpes. My feeling is that there is nothing more French than crêpes. A bold statement I know but I stand by it.
During the winter season, and only the winter season, there is a woman who sets up shop in a little wooden shed on the sea front to make crêpes.
It’s a one woman outfit that is open between 4 & 6pm. A small window of opportunity for us late eaters.
She knows us now so we get served quickly. Our order seldom changes; nutella for me, sugar & lemon juice for MW & MS alternates between the two and on occasion, he has been known to have cherry jam.
Freshly made crêpes in hand, we head over to the steps on the sea front to eat.
It has become a ritual that never fails to bring us a lot of joy as a family. Just the 3 of us sitting on the steps eating beautiful French pancakes.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crêpe au sucre et au citron.

  1. Stef says:

    Oh, I am wildly jealous: 1) that France is so close to you; 2) that all of that amazing authentic food is so close to you; 3) that you get to eat FRESH crepes by the sea. Wow. *sigh*

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    oh this was a lovely surprise afternoon snack and with a good amount of lemon juice and sugar. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

