Cheese Crackers, Manchego Cheese, Fuet, Pistachio & Walnuts.

Wednesday 2nd March 2011

MS has breakfast at home at about 7.30. He starts school at 8.30. At around 10.00 they have a break. This is when they have second breakfast (Esmorzar) He likes to take something he can hold in his hand so he can run around in the playground and eat at the same time. This isn’t always what I have in mind.
I give him something different everyday. Rice cakes, a bread roll or cheese & biscuits. I try to keep it carbohydrate heavy. But once a week he gets a piece of cake. This has always been one of life’s big injustices for him.

“Why can’t I have chocolate biscuits like the others.” He used to say.

“Because I don’t think they are very good as a breakfast. Anyway, you’ll go bananas after eating them and your poor teacher will have to deal with it.” I would reply.

We have now been doing this routine for so long that the subject doesn’t come up any longer. I wanted to see if things had changed so I asked him before he went to bed last night what the other kids at school take for breakfast now.

“Sandwiches…like you make Daddy, fruit, cake…and chocolate biscuits. Can I take chocolate biscuits one day?”

This entry was posted in Second Breakfast and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheese Crackers, Manchego Cheese, Fuet, Pistachio & Walnuts.

  1. Stef says:

    I’m not sure I fully understand…. your son can have cake for a snack, but not a chocolate cookie? (I assume “biscuit” is British English for “cookie”, right?) Do you mean something else when you reference “cake”? I would think cake would have more sugar in it than a cookie…? I’m confused…

    • I guess you’re right. I imagine they both have similar amounts of sugar and therefore provoke the same behavior in the classroom. But in my mind, a piece of sponge (Bizcocho) will last him longer, energy-wise, than a chocolate covered biscuit because I’ve assumed the carbohydrate value is higher. But maybe that’s all rubbish, it’s just bigger than a biscuit and will therefore last him longer.
      Yeah, I suppose it is a little hypocritical of me. Need to look into that. 😉

      An interesting piece of information I heard on the radio, which cleared up my confusion about the ‘Cookie Vs Biscuit’ debate, is that a cookie is only half baked and soft in the centre whereas a biscuit is cooked through.
      Well, what d’ya know! 🙂

      • Stef says:

        I had always wondered “What IS the difference between a cookie and biscuit?” – now I know! Thanks for the cool knowledge tidbit! 🙂

  2. Stef says:

    But I do love the little snack, and the sweet note. 🙂

Leave a Reply

