Spinach & Mozzarella Cheese Pancakes with Escalivada.

Tuesday 8th March 2011

It’s pancake day, so of course we had to have pancakes. Also as we had an almost vegetable-free-weekend I decided to make them savory so I could fill them with vegetables.

Bring on the veg!

Savory pancakes I’ve made before but the escalivada is something new for me.
You have to griddle the thinly sliced vegetables first to give them some colour. Then put them in a baking tray and cover with olive oil before baking for a further 30 minutes. or until soft.
You have to use quite a lot of olive oil (About half a litre.) but you can reuse it after and hopefully it’ll have a nice roasted vegetable taste.

I thought I’d get MS’s take on the pancakes.

“They were good actually.” He said incredulously, almost surprised to be saying it.
“It was a bit hot though…I would prefer it cold, like real pancakes.”

Hopefully I made up for it with the sweet pancakes I made for dessert. I made sure they were stone cold.

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spinach & Mozzarella Cheese Pancakes with Escalivada.

  1. Stef says:

    I made roasted veg this past weekend, and made a huge batch so I could eat them for several days. I just finished them off tonight – yum. πŸ™‚

    Do you have an official pancake day at your home?

  2. Stef says:

    And is “Shrove Tuesday” the same as “Fat Tuesday”? (I.e., the day before Catholic Lent.)

  3. shellriver says:

    The pancakes and vegetables look delicious! I think we do need to start pancake day in the United States!

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Both dishes were very tasty. I’m not a fan of escalivada in restaurants but this was lovely and I would ask for it again please! Yes I have fond memories of pancake day as a child of tossy the pancake and eating several lemon and sugar ones!

Leave a Reply

