Hot dogs with Fried onions & Avocado, Tomato & Basil Salad.

Wednesday 9th March 2011

MS has a half term week off of school this week so I asked him to think of some things we could do together and of things he would like me to cook. Football was top of the activities list and along with the usual sushi, ravioli and pizza requests, hot dogs were also mentioned.

“I’m full. I couldn’t eat another thing.” he announced slapping his belly.

“Try the onions, I cooked them in butter.” The old ‘cooked in butter’ phrase usually enticed him into at least another mouthful of food.

“I don’t like them.” Came the reply.

“Why?”

“They are too…” He paused before adding; “…oniony and long. Onions should be chopped up.”

“Okay, finish the avocado then.” Still pushing for just one more mouthful of veg.

“No, I don’t like it.”

“What do you like about the meal then?”

Now this he was very clear about;

“The way it looks on the plates after you have eaten half of it.”

The carnage that was left on the plate did look quite picturesque.

A beautiful chaos.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hot dogs with Fried onions & Avocado, Tomato & Basil Salad.

  1. Stef says:

    What all is in the tomato salad? It looks beautiful!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Can’t believe I missed out on this and instead had a cheese sandwich at work! There are 3..wasn’t one meant for me?!

Leave a Reply

