Sushi.

Thursday 10th March 2011

 

(Salmon Nigiri, Prawn Nigiri, Assorted Salmon, Prawn, Avocado, Banana, Roasted Yellow Pepper & Black Fish Roe Makis.)

MS loves sushi, so he came to the table eagerly anticipating what he was about to eat. He perused what was on offer before opting for salmon Nigiri.

Meanwhile, I had been busy mixing up wasabi and soy sauce. (I’m sure you can see where this is going.) Anyway, before I had even taken my chop sticks out of the bowl he was bathing his nigiri in sauce.

He crammed the whole thing into his mouth and started chewing.

“How’s that, nice?” I tentatively probed.

“Mmmm…” Was all he could manage before his eyes started to widen.

“Is it a bit warm?”

He slowly rose from his chair, eyes still widening, and started pacing the room on tip toes.

As he walked out of the room I called after him;

“Are you alright?”

I knew that if it was that bad he would have spat it out and proceeded to drink the 5 litre bottle of water on the table.

No answer.

“Are you alright?” I called again.

He slowly walked into the room with his arms hanging lifelessly by his side and said;

“Dude, you nearly blew my head off!”

Oops, sorry.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sushi.

  1. Stef says:

    Wow, that is quite the spread! And I continue to be impressed (and, at times, slightly amazed) and the refined palate of your 7 year old. Wow.

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Absolutely amazing this was, even at 12 midnight after a few drinks out with the girls! They couldn’t believe I was going home for homemade sushi! Zephy’s story made me laugh! Typical you two!

Leave a Reply

