Uitsmijter.

Friday 11th March 2011

(Fried Egg & Ham On Bread.)

My mum always did the cooking in my house, my dad did the eating.
One of the running jokes amongst the family is that my dad talks about how and what his mother used to cook.
(His mum was apparently a very good cook.)

“It’s not what my mother used to make me, but I suppose it’ll have to do.” He would say, tongue firmly in cheek & with a wink of his eye.

To which my mum would reply;

“Oh, Shut up you. Get your bloody mother to do it next time.”

My dad would snigger at this comment.

That’s not to say that my mum couldn’t cook, quite the opposite, but one of the meals my mum could make, and his mother didn’t, was the uitsmijter.

If my dad came home after we had already eaten mum would make this for him.
He would have 2 slices of ‘Mother’s Pride’ white sliced bread, buttered, cover with ham and a fried egg on each slice. It looked pretty impressive with the two golden yolks staring out.

It’s a Dutch dish, usually for breakfast. MS and I had it for lunch and he made short work of it.
Much like my dad used to.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Uitsmijter.

  1. Stef says:

    It looks really cool! I might have to try that one of these days…

Leave a Reply

