Tapas.

Saturday 12th March 2011

(Pan con Tomate, Pescadito Frito, Patatas Bravas, Empanadas, Ensalada Verde.)

My wife cooks fish on Wednesdays. It’s one of her two nights to cook because I get back late from work on those nights. Everything she cooks is tasty but she doesn’t find it at all easy.
Each week she choses a different fish; Salmon, Mackerel, Hake, Sea Bass or whatever takes her fancy.

Today was my day to cook some fish so as she has been requesting whitebait (pescaditos fritos) for a while I thought I’d combine it with a selection of tapas.

The woman in the market gutted the whitebait so all I needed to do was dust it with flour,salt & pepper and throw it in the fryer. I did all of the above but put the whole 500g’s into my tiny fryer in one load.
Of course, it all stuck together so it didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to. It was edible but not the perfect little fried fish I had hoped for.

The empanadas, on the other hand, were great. I put a little bit of basil in with the boiled egg,tuna & tomato filling which made all the difference.

My wife’s verdict on my efforts;
“It’s all lovely Jon, thank you.” She said.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tapas.

  1. Stef says:

    Wow, that is quite the spread you have there! I never would have thought to put basil with egg or tuna… interesting.

  2. Julian Jahanpour says:

    …the empanada filling – mMMmm. One of those magical lucky accident moments. I’ve never made empanadas because I always thought they’d be a hassle but now I’ll have a try.

    How long did it take the woman to individually gut all the whitebait? Did it take ages? I guess she was a pro. Bet they were delicious!

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a wonderful spread. It was all like the real thing in a Spanish tapas bar. I was amazed as always. The empanadas were so tasty, I of course overly stuffed myself. The basil really made them extra tasty. The whitebait tasted great even if they didn’t look as you wanted them to and the bravas couldn’t have been more authentic. Thanks again as gutting or cooking whitebait is not my thing but eating them is!

Leave a Reply

