Poulet Au Fromage.

(Chicken with cheese, wine and veg)

Monday 14th March 2011

I’m not very good at following recipes. I tend to just look at the picture and do what I think it looks like. Quite the opposite to how my wife cooks. She does everything by the book. This sometimes makes it difficult to cook together. With me saying; “Yeah, throw a bit of that in.” And her saying; “No, it says brown sugar not white.” My thinking is that it’s not going to change things too much if we change the recipe a little.

Today I came across a recipe that I haven’t make for at least 15 years (Now I’m showing my age.) It was typed on a piece of paper and there was not picture. I could have just read through the recipe and make it more or less how it was written but I decided to follow the recipe word for word. I actually weighed everything out which is very unusual for me.

What surprised me most when I had finished, was that the things that I would usually leave out, like the ginger or cayenne pepper, thinking ; “Oh, it doesn’t matter if you change the recipe a little.”, were the things that made this meal delicious.
Maybe I should do this more often.

“What do you think Zeph?” I asked.

“Cool…I like the steam coming off of it.” He mused.

“What bit do you like the best?” I continued.

“I like the way the carrots are hard.”

Maybe I should have cooked it for longer than it said in the recipe!

Poulet Au Fromage
(Chicken with cheese, wine and veg)

Serves 4:-
3 tablespoons oil
1oz (25g) butter
1 large chicken (into 8 pieces.)
Salt and pepper
2 sticks of celery
2 leeks (white part only)
2 Large Carrots
10 fl oz (300ml) dry white wine
7 fl oz (200ml) whipping cream
2 tbs Dijon mustard
1 1/2 tbs ginger
pinch of grated nutmeg
pinch of cayenne pepper
6 oz (175g) gruyére cheese, grated
3 tbs breadcrumbs

Oven-gas mark 5 (190oc)
Heat 2 tablespoons oil and 1/2 the butter in wide frying pan and cook the pieces until brown-(10mins) Transfer chicken to heavy casserole sprinkle with salt and pepper. Heat the remaining oil and butter in frying pan and cook the leek, carrots and celery for 4-5 minutes. Add to casserole. Spoon off excess fat from frying pan, pour in the wine and scrape up the coagulted juices from the bottom of the pan with wooden spoon. Bring to boil and boil for 2-3 minutes. Remove from heat, allow to cool a bit then sir in the cream, mustard, ginger, nutmeg, cayenne pepper and 2/3 of the cheese. Pour over the chicken and vegtables. Mix the breadcrumbs and remaining cheese together and sprinkle over the top. Cover with a lid and bake for 20 minutes. Remove lid and cook for a further 20-25 minutes until top is brown.
Eat!

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poulet Au Fromage.

  1. Julian Jahanpour says:

    Yum! I’ve never had chicken like this. I’d love to try it.

  2. Stef says:

    I think I’m somewhere between you and your wife; I follow the general spirit of the recipe, bu I also amend things if I know I’m probably not going to like certain elements – or if I have an idea to make it “better”. 🙂 But yes, small amounts of spices really can make a difference!

  3. roger edwards says:

    you know i love carrots

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    As I always say “it’s better to follow the recipe”…(well when I’m cooking that is! As I don’t have your flair for cooking)…..and I must say the ginger really did add to the great taste but then so did the celery. It was yet another great meal and I was hoping for lunchtime left-overs but I noticed it going in the freezer instead…oh just a sandwich then tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

