Chili con Carne & Tortillas with Tomato & Mint Salad.

Wednesday 16th March 2011

A couple of weeks ago I made quesadillas for dinner. They were not successful.

“I don’t like the taste. It’s too bready.” He said.

I had bought a pack of 20 tortillas in the Mexican food shop, of which we ate 6. (Well, I say we but Zephy didn’t eat his.) Never mind, the freezer is a great place to find those things.

When it came to serving up the chili I thought I’d give them another go. I ambitiously pulled out 3 tortillas from the freezer, hoping that he might at least eat one of them.

I almost didn’t bother to ask him if he wanted one, as I put the food on the table.

“Can I have one of those?” He said.

Pardon!, How do you ask for that?”

“Can I have one please?”

I handed over a warm tortilla.

“It’s a tortilla. You put a bit of chili in the middle, with some rice and fold it up like this.”

I quickly removed my fingers before they were eaten.

Success.

If you have never left a comment before, give it a go. It’s not as difficult as you think. 😉

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chili con Carne & Tortillas with Tomato & Mint Salad.

  1. Stef says:

    “They” say it can take anywhere from 6-12 different exposures to a new food item for a kid to try it honestly enough (i.e., without emotional/psychological resistance) to realize they probably like it. Looks like your boy is a quick study! 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    if thats like a wrap, i like!!!

Leave a Reply

