Portuguese Custard Tarts.

Friday 18th March 2011

My mum has always worked in catering. So for as long as I can remember I’ve been around kitchens and entertaining with food. She has cooked a medieval banquet, made cakes & cookies for the farmers market, made too many toasted sandwiches & meals in a basket to mention & catered for funerals & weddings. In fact I had the pleasure of catering my own wedding with my mum.
I don’t remember my mum ever teaching me how to cook but as the kitchen was always a place were we naturally congregated I couldn’t help but pick things up. (Well, that and the fact that being the youngest of 3, independence was high on my list of priorities.)   I watched as mum made boiled bacon, sausage plaits, quiche, fruit cakes, pizzas, chocolate chip cookies & spaghetti bolognese amongst other things.
Thanks mum, I wouldn’t be doing this without you. 🙂

Zephyrus and I made these as a treat for mummy on Tuesday.

They went down very well.

Happy birthday to my beautiful sister, Jane.
Thank you for your unconditional support.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Portuguese Custard Tarts.

  1. Stef says:

    Leading by example is perhaps one of the best forms of teaching; it looks like your mom taught you a lot.

    What’s in a Portuguese custard tart? Are they sweet? Savory? I’m curious…

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yummy yummy….I thoroughly enjoyed these and managed to get the extra one before anyone else could! Wonderful treat! Lovely that both of you worked on this for me.Thanksx

  3. roger edwards says:

    mw was pleased with the comment
    and she loves potuguese tarts

Leave a Reply

