Entrecôte, Roasted Tomatoes, Chips & Salad.

Tuesday 22nd March 2011

We don’t eat a lot of red meat, probably only once a week and usually minced beef but tonight…

It’s time for some meat!

One of the best steaks I’ve ever had #1…

Was when my wife and I were attempting to camp in the Olympic Peninsular, in The States. I say ‘attempting’ because we weren’t at all prepared for how cold it was going to be. We slept the first night in the car as we had failed to bring anything more than a duvet cover to sleep under. It seemed a trip to the local supermarket was called for. (We had only ever camped on the mediterranean in the middle of summer.)

American supermarkets sell everything so as we were walking around looking for the biggest and thickest sleeping bag money could buy we came across a man in a stetson tending an enormous barbecue. We were lured in by the smell and the fact that he was giving away free samples. He was cooking steaks in various different sauces and once we had sampled his wares we knew what we were going to have for dinner that night.

With our new purchases under arm, we headed back to the campsite.

Maybe I’ve twisted the truth a little due to nostalgic headiness but what I fired up was at least 2 inches thick and literally hung over the edge of our tiny travel barbecue. The kind of thing Wilma would cook up for Fred.

We sat on the picnic bench and ate with our fingers. It was delicious.

Needless to say, we slept well that night in our 15 tog Arctic double sleeping bag and at least a kilo of undigested red meat in our bellies.

20110323-074114.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Entrecôte, Roasted Tomatoes, Chips & Salad.

  1. Stef says:

    Wow, you have quite the spread in that picture! Did you make those fries yourself? They look perfect. And what is in that green salad tucked off in the top right corner – that looks delicious!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was absolutely delicious. I was in heaven. The steaks were perfectly cooked and such good quality meat. It melted in the mouth! The fat was so tasty too. Chips and salad combination are also my favouite. I honestly ate this so slowly as I so didn’t want it to end. I wish I could have this every night!

Leave a Reply

