Roasted Fennel, Tomatoes, Capers, Anchovies, Goat’s Cheese & Pasta.

Thursday 24th March 2011

I bought the fennel by mistake really. I was looking for celeriac and ended up walking away from the grocer’s with this instead. I didn’t have the heart to tell the man that, what I had just described to him, wasn’t what I actually wanted. I walk past the shop everyday and never see anyone in there.

I didn’t think I would like the taste of fennel as I’m not to keen on aniseed. Zephyrus, on the other hand, loves liquorice so I knew he wouldn’t have any trouble.

The recipe I found just used the fennel and tomato but I thought the capers and anchovies would fit in nicely.

And they did, the whole meal was a success. As it turns out fennel isn’t over-powering aniseed tasting. It was much more subtle than I had expected and was a superbly matched with the salty anchovies and creamy cheese.

I asked Zeph what he thought.

“Yeah, yeah a 9…no a 2…no a 7. Whatever you want Daddy.”

Not sure what to make of that but, his plate was empty.

20110324-104241.jpg

Ingredients.

Fennel, Tomato, Capers, Anchovies, Red Wine, Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper.

Cut the fennel in quarters and brown in a pan of olive oil. Once browned place in an oven proof dish and season with salt & pepper. De-skin the tomato in a pan of boiling water. Core and cut up into 8 then put in with the fennel. Scatter the capers and anchovies and finally splash in a bit of red wine and olive oil. Cook until the fennel is tender. Mine took about 35 minutes.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roasted Fennel, Tomatoes, Capers, Anchovies, Goat’s Cheese & Pasta.

  1. Stef says:

    Way to improvise! As for Z’s assessment, I think his stomach may speak louder than his numbers. 🙂 Have you considered making a for him? (They use these in hospitals here; sometimes kids have difficulty putting feelings into words…)

    • Stef says:

      Good lord, that link didn’t work out so well. Hopefully you understand get what I tried to express anyway… (shaking head at myself slightly)

    • Expressing himself verbally has never been what he lacks, to be honest. More than anything, I think it’s his lazyness to think about something other than what he is thinking about. But then, I wouldn’t expect anything else from a 7-year-old. 🙂

      But thanks for the tip.

      That was a nifty bit of tech you had going on there too-Good job. 😉

      • Stef says:

        Well, yeah, there is that, too. (I.e., only wanting to do what *he* wants to do.) But to your point, he’s 7. I know some 30- and 40-year-olds who can’t get much beyond this, either. 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a surprising tasty meal. I am not usually keen on many of these ingredients ie. fennal, capers and anchovies but it was really tasty. I’d eat it again.

Leave a Reply

