Carrot Cake.

Sunday 27th March 2011

My son and I have been making this cake for all his life. I think maybe it was the first thing we attempted to make something together. The recipe is from a children’s tv program called Big Cook Little Cook. (Check it out on Youtube they are pretty funny.)It is slightly more carrot than cake but then it can be counted as one of your 5-a-day.

Cooking with little kids is never easy. You have to have the patience of a saint to get through it without crumbling to the floor in a quivering wreak. I think we first started cooking together when Zephy was about 18 months old and it was hard work. Mainly because I am a very tidy, ordered person and an 18 month old wants to flatten the biscuit dough with the bottom of your foot and that never sat very easily with me. But in my defense, I kept my patience (more often than not.) and persevered.

Today after 7 years 11 months and 3 days I reaped the rewards of my efforts. (And my wife’s, of course.) We made the carrot cake without fuss or tantrums and he didn’t need to flatten it under foot either.

My boy has grown up and it almost makes me miss the old days.

20110327-101655.jpg
Ingredients.

100g Brown Sugar

1 Tbs Oil

100g Flour

2 Grated Carrots

Handful of raisins

1 Tsp Baking Powder

2 Eggs

Topping.

2 Tbs Icing Sugar

1/2 a Lemon (Juiced)

125g Cream Cheese

I added baking powder to the original recipe and It rose a little more than normal but you can leave it out if you prefer it stodgier.
Cook it for about 25 minutes at 220c/420f/gas mark 7.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Carrot Cake.

  1. Stef says:

    Aw… your little boy is growing up. You are raising a lovely young man that will make a future partner very happy! 🙂

    The cake looks *wonderful* – I may have to try it, and soon…

    What temp do you bake it at, and for how long?

  2. Mark B says:

    Hi Jon,
    looks lovely! I like the look of that recipe as it only uses 1 tbsp of oil which is a lot less than a recipe I use. What size cake is it btw?

  3. Mark B says:

    thanks Jon. I’ll do the sums later!

Leave a Reply

