Shepherds Pie with Roasted Pumpkins & Brussel Sprouts.

Thursday 7th April 2011

I would like to start this post by saying my mum makes this much better than I do. She makes it with lamb mince for a start which makes a big difference to the taste. They are quite keen on lamb here, in Spain, and so we can get legs, shoulders, chops and various bit of offal but not mince. Fortunately, I have a fantastic butcher where I can get minced beef.

Start by frying off a couple of onions in some olive oil then add your beef mince. Leave to cook through and add a handful of frozen peas.

I always try to put as much veg into everything I cook (Not only does it give me an extra helping of veg but it also bulks out the meal meaning I could freeze half of it for another time) so I put a punnett and a half of chopped mushrooms in with the minced beef. Whilst it is slowly simmering in the pan I throw in half a dozen splashes of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce and mix in well.

Now mix up a couple of table spoons of Bisto gravy powder with water and add to the mince. The meat should just be covered by the gravy not swimming in it.

Boil 4 large potatoes until soft and then mash with butter, salt, pepper and a little milk or cream.

Transfer the mince to an oven proof dish and top with the mash. Make peaks in the mash so that when it cooked they turn brown and crispy. To finish I sprinkle a handful of cheese on top.

Grill the top until golden brown.

My friend, Andy, says this is better eaten the day after because the mushrooms have marinated in the gravy and have a deeper taste.

The brussels I pre-cooked and then sautéed with garlic & parsley.

Zephy rearly eats more than what has been put on his plate but today he asked for a second helping.

Result.

20110407-084419.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shepherds Pie with Roasted Pumpkins & Brussel Sprouts.

  1. Stef says:

    Your veggies look absolutely delicious! I can almost smell them through the computer screen…. 🙂 Yum.

Leave a Reply

