French Toast.

Saturday 9th April 2011

We call this eggy bread or gypsy bread where I’m from and more often than not it’s eaten as a savoury with salt and tomato ketchup. But as this is a sweet dish and sprinkled with icing sugar I called it French toast.

Ironically, I’ve never seen this dish on any French menu that I’ve ever read. In fact, I’ve never had it outside of my home. Although, after a quick chat with my wife, we think we may well have had it at one of the many Denny’s restaurants that we frequented during our honeymoon. All those waffles, pancakes and possibly French toast breakfasts all roll into one after so long.

Everything is done at a snail’s pace on a Saturday morning in comparison to the week which can be a double-edged sword. Sometimes things can go so slowly that we don’t end up leaving the flat until gone 12 noon, having been up since 7.30am. Something as simple as just getting everyone to the breakfast table could easily take 10/15 minutes. My son tends to find something that he ‘really has to do right now’ before he come to the table.

Today was no exception.

So having made my French toast and gathered the adults to the table, surprise, surprise my son just had ‘to finish the really important penalty shot out game’ he was playing on the computer.

“Come on Zeph. You don’t wanna miss this.” I tantalised.

My encouragement went in one ear and out the other, but after a few minutes he reluctantly came to the table.

After he had devoured two slices he was back to the business of the day; more penalties.

As he ran off down the hall I called after him.

“What did you think Zeph? Did you like it?”

“Brilliant…I really liked it…You were right, I shouldn’t have missed it.”

20110409-112636.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Second Breakfast and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to French Toast.

  1. janeedwards2324 says:

    Eggy bread!! I loved the way it was so crisp on the outside, but so soft and gooey inside. Got to be savoury though bro!

  2. Stef says:

    I have never had French toast in a savory fashion – honestly, I can’t even fathom it. How do you even begin to make it?

    Where did you honeymoon that you had access to Denny’s?

Leave a Reply

