Steak & Kidney Pie.

Monday 11th April 2011

I’ve wanted to make a pie ever since a fellow blogger made a chicken pot pie as one of her savory sunday dishes. My days are numbered for making hearty meals like this so as I had a box of suet that I had brought back from the UK that needed to be used, I thought it was high time I got down to business.

Suet is usually used for making steak & kidney pudding but I didn’t want to steam up the house for hours when it was 22°C outside, so opted for the baking option.

To be honest my son, Zephyrus, was far too tired to enjoy it tonight. He spent most of the meal complaining and looking for attention. Between my wife and I we managed to steer him from subject to subject being careful not to rock the boat which could result in a difficult bedtime.

“What do you think Zeph? Do you like it?” I tentatively asked.

“No…” He said emphatically “…I don’t even like it.”

Never mind.

As you can see the pie was massive so I froze the other half and I’ll give it another go when he’s in a better mood. 

20110411-092508.jpg

Ingredients.

500g Beef

8 Lamb’s Kidneys

6 Baby Onions

Punnett of Mushrooms

Bottle of Guinness

Flour

Splash of Red Wine

Season, dust with flour and brown the bite-sized pieces of beef in a pan. Don’t put too many in at once or they broil instead of go brown. Do them in 2 batches if need be.

Cut the kidney in half, de-skin them and cut out the gristle in the middle. Then cook in the same way as the beef and take out of the pan.

De-glaze the pan with a splash of red wine then put the liquid aside with the meat.

Fry the onions and mushrooms.

Throw it all back in the pan and add the Guinness with a couple of spoonfuls of flour. Leave to simmer & thicken.

The pastry was made with 400g of flour and 200g suet. Mix it all together with a little water and roll out. Remember to leave enough pastry for the lid. Place the rolled out pastry on the bottom of the oven-proof dish then put the filling in.

Finally put the remaining pastry over the top, pinch the edges and brush with beaten egg.

I cooked it for about 40 minutes at 220°.

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steak & Kidney Pie.

  1. Julian Jahanpour says:

    I always wanted a good recipe for this. Thanks so much. Looks absolutely fantastic!

  2. Stef says:

    Ah, to dream of 22 degrees C; that would feel lovely right about now. Today was a very pleasant 67 degrees F; but it’s supposed to get down to freezing (32 degrees F) again by the weekend. *sigh*

    Thank you so much for the Savory Sundays call out in this post! I was surprised and delighted; you absolutely put a smile on my face!

    I’m sorry to hear Z was cranky last night; I hope he got some good sleep, and is in a better mood. Yes, freeze the pie, and give ‘er a go again later.

Leave a Reply

