Egg & Chips.

Wednesday 13th April 2011

“I think that might be my favourite dinner ever.” Announced my wife as we were clearing the table.

When I’m cooking chips my wife always inquires if a salad will be required. (She’s the chief salad maker.) It’s a rhetorical question really as she knows full well that it would be unthinkable. Chips & salad are like grapes & cheese or chocolate & coffee or even peanut butter & jelly. From her point of view, you couldn’t have one without the other. It’s think it’s the combination of the hot, crispy chips and the cool, fresh salad that make it an inseparable duo. The coming together of good and evil.

My son, Zephyrus, can take or leave chips on their own but when a fried egg is placed on top, begging to have a chip plunged into its golden yolk, he generally obliges, repeatedly. The salad is a welcome relief and a good palette cleanser after he’s had enough of the chips.

I am just pleased when everyone is happy with what they’ve got on their plate.

So all round, everyone’s a winner.

20110413-113143.jpg

This entry was posted in Lunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Egg & Chips.

  1. I think this is going to be my new favorite breakfast!

  2. Stef says:

    “The coming together of good and evil” – I love it! It’s like cereal and milk, chips and salsa, yin and yang…. terrific.

    I have never had a french fry dipped in an egg….I’m not sure what to make of that. I have had a french fry dipped in a chocolate shake, though – it’s good stuff. But that is more evil-and-evil than good-and-evil… 😉

  3. Stef says:

    P.S. What’s in your salad? It looks amazing! Your wife did a good job with that one.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    Can’t have chips without salad, they combine so well. And egg and chips go so well too.

Leave a Reply

