Spring Vegetable with Bacon.

Thursday 14th April 2011

At 8:23am this morning I got a text message;

“Would you be interested in a lettuce, broad beans and maybe peas? don’t want to bring them to mmcc if not…i’m going away 2nite and can’t eat them” It read.

“Yes please. Thanks Gill.” I replied.

I wanted to add; “Have you got a bottle of wine to go with that?” but I have learnt the hard way that humor and text messaging don’t always mix very well so I decided against it.

When I arrived at work I found this.

20110414-035752.jpg

I was chuffed. She had given me a whole bag full of goodies. Artichokes, an onion, a lettuce, beans, peas, Swiss chard, mint, sage, chives, 2 kinds of parsley and to my surprise a bottle of red wine. She must be a mind reader.

“It’s all organic…” She told me. “…from my garden, even the wine.”

Thank you Gill. 🙂

When I picked up Zeph from school I told about my present.

“What do you think we should make with it?” I asked.

I wanted him to say we could make a souffle with the artichokes and a spring salad with the chard & peas.

But he didn’t.

After an abnormally long pause she said;

“I don’t know. Daddy can we go to the park?”

Indeed, what was I thinking. Let’s get our priorities right.

20110414-084700.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarianish and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spring Vegetable with Bacon.

  1. Stef says:

    Wow, beautiful pictures! (Both the before and the after; both look amazing!) Now, we just need a picture of the park. Good man Z, for keeping simplicity top of mind. 🙂

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was such a tasty dish. The vegetables were so fresh and cooked perfectly with a good crunch to them. Wonderful!

Leave a Reply

