Poached Halibut with Mash Potato & Parsley Sauce.

Tuesday 19th April 2011

“Do you remember the cod in parsley sauce we used to get when we were kids? It came in a bag and you put it in boiling water to cook it.” I asked my wife.

We don’t often have the same childhood memories. Our upbringing’s were the complete polar opposites. So I was expecting the usual;

“No, we didn’t have that.”

But…

“Yeah, I remember those. You taught me how to make fish pie with them when I went to college.”

“Did I ?” I said, more than a tad surprised.

“Yeah, you told me to boil the little bag, put it in the dish and put mash potato on top.”

What can I say, Even at 18 years-old I was a budding culinary genius. 😉

Zephy bolted this down, like he hadn’t eaten for 3 days, and said;

“Is there anymore please?”

20110419-013329.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Poached Halibut with Mash Potato & Parsley Sauce.

  1. Stef says:

    Did you and your wife know each other as kids? In college? How did you meet, and how long have you been married?

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    A gorgeous fish meal. The fish melted in the mouth. This reminded me of the poached plaice I used to have as a child. Yummy.

Leave a Reply

