Organic Roast Chicken with Baby New Potatoes, Carrots & Broccoli.

Wednesday 20th April 2011

Whenever we had roast chicken, as a kid, my Dad would take out the wish bone for my sisters and I to pull.

We would put our little fingers around each prong, close our eyes and pull. If we got the big bit we got to make our wish.

Since then I’ve loved the idea of the wish bone and wholly believe that when you make a wish on a wish bone it may come true.

As I get older it takes me longer to think of the wish. Making the wrong choice could mean I become a millionaire but my family has bad health.

I forwent the honor of sharing the wish bone and gave it to Zeph and my wife to do.

“Can I make two wishes?” He asked eagerly.

“No, only one.”

“Ooh!” Came his disappointed reply.

“I don’t make the rule, and the rules are one wish.”

He reluctantly hooked his finger around the bone and pulled.

He lost.

“I’ll give my wish to you.” My wife graciously offered.

He smiled and took the bigger bit.

“Close your eyes and make a wish.” I said.

He closed his eyes and wished.

“What did you wish for?” I immediately asked.

“I’m not gonna say…” He said. “…but can I have two wishes?”

20110420-062900.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organic Roast Chicken with Baby New Potatoes, Carrots & Broccoli.

  1. Stef says:

    My sister and I used to split the wish bone… but then we could never remember if it was the bigger bit or the smaller bit that got the wish – so we each just wished a wish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

