Bacon & Cheese Baguette.

Wednesday 27th April 2011

This is my favourite sandwich. If I ever stop and have a sandwich in a bar for lunch, this would be the sandwich of choice. It’s the hot bacon that melts into the cheese which then moistens the bread that I can’t resist. I’m salivating just thinking about it.

I made this for Zephy a few weeks ago for his after-school snack. I was very excited to make it for him, thinking it might be a welcome break from his usual snack sandwich. I kept it warm for the 20 minute walk to his school, by wrapping it in silver foil.

When I picked him up from school he was with his friend and so didn’t really notice what I handed him. More than half-way through I asked with anticipation;

“How’s that sandwich going down big guy?”

He looked down at the thing he had in his hand and handed it back to me saying;

“I don’t like it actually.”

Contrary bloody Mary strikes again.

20110427-110249.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bacon & Cheese Baguette.

  1. Stef says:

    You are an awesome dad – keeping the sandwich warm for the full 20 minute walk to school. That’s love, I tell ya.

    If I ate meat, this would definitely be a go-to sandwich for me. Cheese melted into anything warm and gooey is awesome. 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    if ys dont want it ill ave it

Leave a Reply

