Hot Dog with Onions.

Saturday 30th April 2011

When I was 14 years old I told my mum I wanted to be a vegetarian. It was for two reasons 1) I didn’t like the taste of meat anymore and 2) Corrine Burns was a vegetarian. I had had a bit of a crush on her since we were at primary school together.
My mum was very cool about it and gave me whatever they were having but without the meat until she realised I was gonna go through with it and then she started cooking and buying veggie meals for me-thanks mum.

Fast forward 6 years and I’m making my first trip to California for a weeks holiday with my beast friend. I never missed eating meat the whole time I was vegetarian, not even bacon, but as I was going to the U. States of A I put a hot dog on my to do list.

I went to a shopping mall somewhere in San Diego and ordered a foot-long hot dog with onions. The hot dog was ok but the slice of Americana that I experienced, ie. California, Shopping mall, enormous sausage and of course piped muzak, was so worth it.

The sun is hitting the balcony now so we sat outside to eat our ‘dogs’.

I asked Zeph for his verdict on lunch.

“Nice…” He said. “…and I like sitting on the balcony.” 🙂

20110430-115502.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hot Dog with Onions.

  1. sinavratil says:

    Fun post! I am guessing you are from the UK. I’m from the US and have never been to the UK. My friend was nice enough to give me a sample meal. http://sinavratil.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/an-english-dinner/

    Happy blogging!

  2. Stef says:

    Had you never had a hot dog before? Or just never had an *American* hot dog? 😉

  3. roger edwards says:

    you have the salad i’ll have your dog

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    These were gorgeous hot dogs with a proper amount of onions!

Leave a Reply

