Roasted Fennel, Tomatoes, Capers, Anchovies, Goat’s Cheese & Pasta.

Monday 2nd May 2011

“What have we got for dinner tonight?”

My son, Zephy is scavenging for titbits.

“Fennel.” I say scattering black olives over the top.

“Mmmmm, we liked fennel, didn’t we?” He replies picking black olives off the top.

“Try one of these.” I say.

“What is it?”

“What do you think it is?”

“Olive.” He poses.

“It’s a caper.” I tell him.

He picks it out and pops it in his mouth. Judging from his wincing face it wasn’t what he was expecting.

“Can I have some of that?” He says yanking on a piece of raw fennel.

“Wait, I’ll cut a bit off for you.” I say chopping him off a stem of fennel.

He ravenously grabs it and gobbles it down with it even touching the sides.

I love it when he takes this much interest in what we are going to eat. It was probably because he was hungry but something caught his eye and made him get involved. It’s all good for me, I’ll take it anyway I get it.

20110502-103025.jpg

Recipe

This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarianish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Fennel, Tomatoes, Capers, Anchovies, Goat’s Cheese & Pasta.

  1. Mistral Zagni says:

    This is great invention. I never thought I would like fennel so much but this is such a good way to eat it and I really like the pasta with it. Again pasta and veg isn’t usually my thing but this certainly wins me over. Well done.

  2. Stef says:

    Hunger is a great motivator! 🙂

    Have you considered growing a garden with him? I bet you two could make some amazing meals from your own home-grown veg…

Leave a Reply

