Liver & Bacon on Mash Potato with Garden Peas, Carrots & Onion Gravy.

Tuesday 3rd May 2011

We did a big food shop this weekend so the fridge is jammed to capacity with scrumptious things to eat. In fact, so much so that I haven’t been able to fit it all in the fridge and so have a bag of veg hanging on the back of the chair next to the fridge.
It’s a great feeling to look in there and be able to choose between at least half a dozen meals.

I’m spoilt for choice.

We bought the things we normally buy like, honey & olive oil. We bought some things we never buy like; a funny coloured aubergine & tofu. And we also bought some things that we don’t often get around to buying like; porridge oats & liver.

My wife often asks for liver & bacon as it’s high in iron and good for her anemia.

Zeph, of course, made a bee-line for the bacon first. He had a good go at the liver but gave up after eating half of it saying;

“I don’t like the texture.”

I was happy with that. 🙂

20110503-102313.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Liver & Bacon on Mash Potato with Garden Peas, Carrots & Onion Gravy.

  1. Stef says:

    Yay tofu! 🙂

    Wow, Z took a crack at the liver? I tell ya, your kid is something else… Very cool.

    My mom used to make liver and onions on occasion (for herself; she knew no one else in the house would eat it). I still remember the smell…

Leave a Reply

