Salmon Wellington with New Potatoes & Carrots Julienne.

Wednesday 4th May 2011

It’s fish day in our house. As I’ve mentioned before in this blog, my wife cooks fish on Wednesdays. I made this a couple of weeks ago while on holiday in France.

We like salmon and we are always trying to find something different to do with it, other than pan frying it or poaching it in the oven. Last week my wife, Mistral, made a fantastic salmon, cream fraiche & tagliatelli dish. Simple and delicious.

I spread a spoonful of pesto on the fish before wrapping it in the puff pastry. It came out beautifully moist and flavoured by the basil.

The pastry was very flakey so once Zephy had had enough of wrestling it onto his fork, he found a way of scooping out the fish.

When needs must.

20110504-110019.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Salmon Wellington with New Potatoes & Carrots Julienne.

  1. Stef says:

    Another puff pastry appearance! I might have to get ‘crafty’ and see what I ca pop into a puff and see what happens…

  2. roger edwards says:

    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

  3. Dadscooking says:

    Looks great – I make a similar version using finely chopped stem ginger and small raisins in lots of butter – smear it onto the Salmon and cook in in the same way – it is wonderful – I shall put it on my blog shortly!

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    A very tasty way to have salmon.Made a nice change. So professionally done.

Leave a Reply

