Mushroom & Blue Cheese Quiche with Roasted Squash.

Thursday 5th May 2011

If I said, I could count on one hand the things I can do well, I would be exaggerating. But one thing I have learnt to do well is make short crust pastry. It’s one of those things that, the more you do, the easier it becomes and the better it gets. I kid you not when I say, it is very easy to make and yet it is something that people prefer to buy ready-made.

I have, and have had a fear, or apprehension, of cooking certain dishes or cooking with special ingredients. Like pasta for example. In theory it’s easy to make; just flour and eggs right? But I have only ever made it once. It was edible but the pasta maker remains in the cupboard collecting dust as I type. It just seems like too much hard work. Every time I see it in the cupboard I think about when I first started making short crust. It was as labour intensive as making the pasta. I know that if I did it more often I would get good at it. But alas, in the cupboard it stays.

I am going to make pasta again and I urge you to try making pastry.

And if you do already, ignore the above. 😉

Zephy’s verdict on the meal;

“Nice…what is it Daddy?”

20110505-104726.jpg

Recipe.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mushroom & Blue Cheese Quiche with Roasted Squash.

  1. Stef says:

    Okay, I am *so* guilty of this (i.e., being apprehensive to make itms from scratch like a pastry crust). I tried to make scones once, but the whole “cut the butter into the flour with knives” business was a complete failure. Same thing with irish soda bread, biscotti, and any other food item I’ve attempted that calls for the whole cut-butter-into-flour act.

    So I suspect I would fail your crust…. 😦 But the quiche looks amazing! 🙂

    • Thanks Stef. 🙂

      I promise you, it really isn’t that difficult.

      Have you used your skillet again?

      • Stef says:

        I haven’t used the skillet again – there have been too many other recipes/food methods I’ve wanted to explore. But I suspect a frittata will be made again before too long… or perhaps an oven cake? Ooohhh, that could be good…. 🙂

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a great yummy quiche. You do make a good quiche I must say.

Leave a Reply

