Macaroni Cheese with Spinach.

Monday 9th May 2011

“What’s for tea tonight Dad?” My son asked, balancing on one foot in the kitchen doorway.

“Macaroni n’ cheese.” I said in my bog-standard American accent.

“It’s not macaroni & cheese, it’s macaroni cheese.” He corrected before walking away.

Macaroni cheese was my most-favourite-dinner-in-the-whole-wide-world when I was 10 years old. Today my palette has had the pleasure of tasting some very tasty dishes and so I have more than one favourite dinner. That being said, it still holds a very special place in my heart.

It reminds me of the 70s. Riding around on my bike, climbing trees, hot barmy summers & soda stream. Even the pyrex dish takes me right back to that era.

Happy days. 🙂

I haven’t eaten it for years until recently when we went to an American diner for diner and on the menu was none other than macaroni & cheese with spinach. I had never had it with spinach before so, when in Rome or an American diner. It was delicious. The thick layer of grilled cheese on the top was even better than I remembered. 

When Zeph was tucked up in bed, I crept in to kiss him good night.

“What did you think of the macaroni cheese?” I asked.

“Rubbish…” He said cheekily.

“…Ooonlyyy joookiiing!” He added.

How to make a cheese sauce.

2oz Butter, 2oz Flour, 600ml Milk, 6oz Cheddar or Gruyère Cheese, Salt & Pepper.

Melt the butter in a pan. Once melted take off of the flame and add the flour. It should be the consistency of a paste. Add the cold milk a little at a time while mixing well until all the milk is added. Bring to the boil and leave to simmer for 5 minutes. This takes the floury taste out of the sauce. Stir every now and again to make sure it doesn’t burn. Add the cheese and voilà!

20110509-101048.jpg

http://www.automat-london.com/

This entry was posted in Dinner, Uncategorized, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Macaroni Cheese with Spinach.

  1. Colline says:

    My children enjoy this too: it was one way to get them accustomed to the taste of spinach. Now they request this meal for dinner 🙂

  2. Stef says:

    It’s macaroni AND cheese – “macaroni cheese” doesn’t even make sense… how can macaroni make cheese? 😉

    I’ve had mac & cheese before with broccoli, but never spinach; I think I’ll have to try that version!

    I followed the link to automat london, but didn’t see a recipe there… perhaps you could share your ingredient list and preferred cooking method for this gem?

    And yeah, the pyrex dish reminds me of childhood too. Good times indeed. 🙂

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was absolutely delicious. Such a great cheesy sauce and great topping and the spinach topped it off. I look forward to it again some time.

Leave a Reply

