Lentil Stew with Chorizo.

Tuesday 10th May 2011

Ever since my son first started to eat I have regulated the temperature of his food. From his milk to baby rice and on to soups & toasted sandwiches.

Eating hot food and burning your mouth can completely put you off something. Melted cheese and hot milk both spring to mind. Equally, eating something that has gone too cold can have the same effect. Cold fried eggs or toast. (You know when it either goes too crunchy or too cardboardy?)

Therefor to get my son to eat well, not only does the food have to look good and taste good, it has to be the right temperature too.

I don’t like hot food, my Dad is the same. Or should I say, I’m the same as my Dad. I clearly remember, as a child, my Dad sitting in front of the tv with his dinner on the fold-out table in front of him flapping a paperback book over his meal to cool it down. In fact, my Dad & I are so similar about the temperature of our food that we say the same phrase when we are told that our food is getting cold;

“It’s Ok. I don’t like hot food.” We say.

Maybe it’s genetic or just coincidence but it is curious that my son prefers his food room temperature too. So much so that whatever the weather he always asks for his milk ‘natural’. Not hot, not cold but room temperature.

The lentil stew was very hot tonight so I grabbed a paperback book and got to work.

20110510-113610.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lentil Stew with Chorizo.

  1. Stef says:

    Funny – I actually prefer extremes to my food and beverages (HOT coffee/tea, HOT soup, COLD milk, COLD fruit) – except when it comes to water. For just straight-up, plain ol’ water, I like it room temp. “Natural.” I like that description. I think I may have to adopt it. 🙂

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This is one of my favourite meals and it is always so tasty. I like my food boiling hot which really make life difficult for you but you do so well in keeping me happy! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

