Leek & Goat’s Cheese Tart with Pearl Barley Salad.

Thursday 12th May 2011.

My wife got off work early tonight which gave us a chance to all sit down and have dinner together. Usually, on Thursdays, she gets back after my son is asleep so just he and I sit up for dinner.

We are very lucky that we get 2 nights during the week where the 3 of us can have dinner together. This wasn’t the way before Zephyrus was born. Before he was born, my wife & I used to sit in front of the tv to eat. We always wanted to sit up the table but never found the reason to do so.

Then along came Zephy and we had a reason.

Coincidently, last week I was looking for material for my students when I came across a short video about how important it is for families to eat together. It might be a bit cheesy but one of the quotes resonated with me.

‘Family dinners are more important than play and story time in the development of vocabulary in young children.’

It felt good to think that we are doing something right.

Recipe.
20110512-112025.jpg

Family Dinner Video.

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leek & Goat’s Cheese Tart with Pearl Barley Salad.

  1. rutheh says:

    Family dinners are key! So true.
    Enjoying your posts.

  2. Stef says:

    I think you and your wife do lots of things right. 🙂

    Before he met me, my husband used to eat all if his meals in front of the TV. Now he does so only when I’m not at home (I eat every meal at the dining room table).

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes i do enjoy our meal times together. I mean how could I not with such great food being served.

Leave a Reply

