Stir Fried Vegetables & Setan with a Creamy Ginger & lime Sauce.

Monday 16th May 2011

I felt sure that there should have been a name for this dish and that it actually existed. But after a little research I found that I had made a composite of a few oriental dishes; Mei Goreng, Pad Thai and maybe a bit of Thai Green Curry to boot.

Another tasty accident. 🙂

My wife & I spent a summer in Indonesia before we fell pregnant with my son, Zephyrus. Rice & noodles were consumed daily so we quickly got used to versions on a theme; rice with veg,noodles with veg. Being a savoury lover, I loved it. I could literally have a plate of Singapore noodles for breakfast – Heaven!

On our way back from Indonesia, we had a layover in Singapore for a night. We spent the day catching up with an old friend who was living there at that time. As we had a late flight, she invited us out to dinner.

“Do you like Pad Thai?” She asked.

At this point we felt like aficionados in Asian cuisine, having eaten the stuff for a month, and so told her to order away.

When it arrived, both my wife & I lashed into it with gusto only to find that the crushed-nut-looking-stuff on the top was in fact chili flakes. It blew our collective heads off.

Not such a tasty accident. 😦

I didn’t put chili flakes on ours. I put crushed Pastachio nuts instead which Zeph loved.

Zephy’s verdict;

“Yeah good…tasty. Yeah, that’s what I want to say Daddy…tasty.”

20110516-115834.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stir Fried Vegetables & Setan with a Creamy Ginger & lime Sauce.

  1. Stef says:

    Crushed pistachios are probably a lot more forgiving than crushed chilies – very kind of you. 🙂

    I love that seitan has made it into your culinary repertoire! Awesome!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes this was very tasty: You could really taste the lime. It gave it a really fresh taste: Yummy.

Leave a Reply

