Roasted Pig’s Cheek with Mashed Cauliflower & Savoury Peas.

Tuesday 17th May 2011

I remember the first time I had pig’s cheek in a restaurant. It was when I first moved to Spain. After years of being a vegetarian I moved here and made up for lost time by eating anything and everything that a dead animal carcass could offer – Nose to tail eating.

I was always on the look out for new things to eat and so when my wife spotted this on the menu I ordered it straight away.

The meal arrived and I set about making light work of it. Half way through I was shocked to find I had an actual pig’s tooth attached to the jaw bone on my plate. I, very indignantly, called the waitress over to tell her what I had found in my food when she looked at me, without blinking, and said;

“Well, you did order pig’s cheek. What did you expect?”

I put my head down and shut up. She did have a point. I kept the tooth as a reminder to never ask stupid questions.

The mashed cauliflower was an idea from my sister, Jane. I mashed it with 100g of cream cheese, a generous knob of butter & salt n’ pepper.

And the savoury peas are from my mum’s cookbook of life. Frozen garden peas with mushroom, onions & bacon (The bacon is optional.) If you wanted to bulk it out with a carb, to have on its own, you could add some boiled new potatoes.

20110517-094827.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roasted Pig’s Cheek with Mashed Cauliflower & Savoury Peas.

  1. Mistral Zagni says:

    A great family dinner altogether. Thanks. The cauliflower was a nice change.

  2. Stef says:

    My dad makes mashed cauliflower often; and it does taste very similar to mashed potatoes!

    The savory peas sound terrific! I might have to try them. (Minus the bacon.)

    I’ll pass on the pig’s cheek. And the teeth.

  3. roger says:

    if its meat i’ll eat it.you know me and colli cheese especially mashed.so easy to eat

Leave a Reply

