Spaghetti Bolognese.

Thursday 19th May 2011

Mum & Dad are coming today. They always get a late flight and arrive ready for some food. It has become tradition to make this for their dinner. It reheats well in the microwave and it’s not too fussy to eat, meaning we can eat and chat informally.

Dad loves the tradition of the “spag Bol”. He always asks enthusiastically, before he comes, if I’m going to make it and has been known to boast to his friends that he’s going to Barcelona and he’s got spaghetti Bolognese waiting for him on arrival.

Although having said that, he’s more interested in the Bolognese than the spaghetti and given half a chance would prefer to eat just a bowl of the meaty sauce without the pasta.

Not sure Mum would be too happy if I did that. 😉

Zephy has spaghetti at school but it’s more like a tomato purée sauce that something ladened with vegetable.

“Do the children like the spaghetti at school?” I enquired while I was doing the washing up.

“Half-half.” He replied between slurps.

“Do you like spaghetti?” I continued.

“Yeah.” He said shrugging his shoulders.

Can’t have been too bad. He polished off a big enough bowl of it. 😉

20110519-091318.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spaghetti Bolognese.

  1. Stef says:

    As a child, I never ate noodles and sauce together. Never. I would eat noodles by themselves, and I would eat the sauce by itself (or dip bread into it), but for whatever reason I would never eat traditional “spaghetti”. I don’t know why.

    Perhaps it was the one way I could be ‘contrary’…? 😉

  2. roger says:

    it was up to usual standard.i gave it an eleven

Leave a Reply

