Strawberries with Greek Yoghurt, Honey & Chocolate Shavings.

Friday 20th May 2011

One of the many privileges we get from being able to visit family in the UK during the summer is being able to go to the pick-your-own fruit farms. We don’t get that opportunity here in the city.

Depending on what time of the month we visit we might be able to pick anything from corn on the cob to cherries or of course strawberries.

Last year, at the farm we usually go to, there was a newspaper cutting on the wall reporting that another PYO farm in the area was forced to close due to greedy customers eating a quarter of their strawberry crops. Being able to eat as you pick is part of the fun but the last thing I want to do is put someone out of business. Needless to say, I decided to not eat while I picked and save it for when I finished.

Every little counts. 😉

20110520-115232.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Strawberries with Greek Yoghurt, Honey & Chocolate Shavings.

  1. Stef says:

    Every summer as a kid one of my parents and I would go to a pick-your-own farm and get goodies. Strawberries and blueberries were the standard, though sometimes we would get raspberries. I did eat a few berries while picking, but only 2 or 3 – no more.

    Now in the grocery I won’t “taste” the grapes; because yes, every little bit counts. 🙂

  2. Actually visiting a U-Pick farm in the a.m for strawberry picking. They don’t allow you to eat while you pick. I can see how that could very quickly become a problem.

Leave a Reply

