Steak Hache, Tarteflette & Haricot Verts.

Sunday 22nd May 2011

Or to you & me, hamburger, cheese & potato tart with green beans. 😉

Tarteflette is my new best friend. When I made it the first time, I couldn’t find reblochon cheese but when we went to France for the Easter break there was a whole selection of cheeses specifically for tarteflette. In fact, they had there own section in the cold store.

To be honest, I didn’t notice a difference from using camembert the first time. It was still incredibly rich and very more-ish.

The good news is that my son, Zephyrus, ate it this time. I suppose melted soft cheese is a bit of an acquired taste.

I was walking past my son’s room after lights out, when I saw him looking at my iPhone.

“Come on big guy, time for sleep now.” I whispered.

“Daddy…I just wanted to look at the blog.”

How could I resist? I gave him 10 minutes and told him I’d be back. When I returned he was completely under the covers still reading my blog.

“What did you think?” I probed.

“Good Daddy…really good…” He replied enthusiastically. “…How many hits have we had Daddy?”

“About 4 thousand.”

“When’s it gonna be a million Daddy.”

“One day…” I said wistfully. “…one day.”

20110522-104516.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Steak Hache, Tarteflette & Haricot Verts.

  1. Stef says:

    Aw…. cutie. How awesome that Z likes the blog!

    Re. your tarteflette, my mom calls it “au gratin potatoes” – and she makes it with cheddar cheese. It’s delish. 🙂

  2. Oh, to go cheese shopping in France! I can only imagine.

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This is my favourite best friend too. It’s so yummy that tarteflette.

  4. roger says:

    the taters look lovely covered in cheese sauce

Leave a Reply

