Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche, New Potatoes, Green Beans & Homemade Coleslaw.

Tuesday 23rd May 2011

This is a meal that I have grown up with. My mum has been making this for years so as she is here at the moment I decide to make it for her.

Over dinner I asked mum about the origins of the different dishes.

She told me that she started making quiches in the 70’s. At that time, thanks to Julia Childs, it became very fashionable to make quiche Lorraine and my mum wanted to make an alternative to that for a dinner party she was having. She used to make her own pastry back then but now at 71 years old she cuts a few corners and buys frozen puff pastry.

The coleslaw was taught to her by somebody she worked with around the same period. Mum said that the woman used to also put a blob of mustard in hers too. Sounds like a nice touch.

It was very interesting to finally find out where these dishes, that I have been making for years, came from. And that perhaps one day my son, Zephyrus will be making the same dishes for years to come. 🙂

20110523-114837.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche, New Potatoes, Green Beans & Homemade Coleslaw.

  1. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was as always a delicious meal. I love the coleslaw you make and the tasty quiche. Thanks.

  2. Stef says:

    Traditions are special; and learning their origins only make them more so. Say “hi” to your mom for me. 🙂

  3. roger says:

    i enjoyed it also

  4. roger says:

    i enjoyed the quiche and the coleslaw also

Leave a Reply

