Easy Roast Chicken.

Saturday 28th May 2011

This was supposed to be a collaboration between Mum and Zephyrus but Zeph’s friends came to knock for him to play football and he just couldn’t resist. 😉

I was more than happy to step into his place.

Mum has always bought Zephy books. Ever since he was a baby. Storybooks, activity book or books to play with in the bath. This time she brought him a book called ‘The Usborne Cookbook for Boys’. I wasn’t there when it was given to him but I’m told his eyes light up when he saw it. That night, when I got back from work, he was lying on his bed browsing through it.

That’s my boy. 😉

It’s a great book full of photo illustrations of healthy food that could excite and encourage a child to cook, be it boy or girl.

They chose this one because Zeph liked the look of the picture.

Peel potatoes and chop into quarters. Put into a roasting pan with a large onion also cut into quarters & 6 whole carrots. Place the chicken on top, season with salt n’ pepper and drizzle with olive oil. Cook for 35 minutes at 200oC.

In the meantime, chop the courgette and put into a bowl. Add 12 garlic cloves un-peeled & a quartered lemon. Season and put to one side.

After 35 minutes, take the chicken off the top and stir in the courgettes, garlic & lemon. Put the chicken back on top and cook for a further 30 minutes or until the chicken is tender.

Mum, Dad, my wife, Zephy & I all sat in front of the tv and watched the final of the champions cup to eat.

Barca won 3-1. 🙂

20110528-115718.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Roast Chicken.

  1. Stef says:

    I love that your son was thrilled by a cookbook. Nice work dad! 🙂

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a really tasty meal. I will be delving into that cookbook!

Leave a Reply

