Bengali Chicken Stew.

Friday 3rd June 2011

My friend Andy sent me this recipe, via snail mail. Not only that, he send me the spices too.

Thanks Andy. 🙂

Andy is the king of curries. He makes the most amazing curries I’ve ever eaten. And that includes anything I’ve ever eaten in a restaurant too. We once had a meal at his house that my wife & I still talk about.

“Do you remember that meal we had at Amanda & Andy’s house?” We would say in unison.

“Ooh yeah…” We would continue slightly squinting our eyes and licking our lips.

He made onion bhajis, chappati bread, 2 different curries, a veggie dish & dal. The whole meal was a mind blowing experience. The best Indian meal I have ever had in my whole life.

Thanks again Andy. 😉

I had some peas left over from the week which I threw in too, along with half an onion. Not sure if they have garden peas in India but it gave it a bit of colour.

As Mum, Dad, Zeph & I sat down to eat, conversation turned to how much we liked curry.

“I don’t make them very often…” I said. “…but when I do they always go down very well.” I continued turning to Zeph. “You like a good bit of curry don’t you Zeph?”

“Yeah.” He said shovelling another spoonful of chicken & cauliflower into his mouth.

Actions speak louder than words, me thinks.

20110603-092122.jpg

Bengali Chicken Stew

This is a beauty from Atul Kochhar’s Simple Indian book. The sauce is supposed to be quite thin, I’ve enclosed some spices that you might not be able to get, enough for 3 lots.

Ingredients

1.2kg whole chicken
80ml vegetable oil
1tsp panch phoran
1 bay leaf
2 cloves
5cm piece of cinnamon
1tsp of chopped up ginger and garlic (made into a paste)
1 ½ tsps of ground turmeric
1 tsp ground coriander
½ tsp ground cumin
2 large tomatoes cut into wedges
1tsp salt
150g peeled potatoes cut into wedges
150g cauliflower cut into florets
1tbsb chopped coriander

Joint the chicken into eight and remove the skin. Heat the oil in a large deep sauté pan and sauté the chicken pieces for a minute or two without colouring, remove them from the pan and set aside.

Reheat the oil remaining in the pan. Add the panch phoran, bay leaf, cloves and cinnamon. Sauté for 1-2 minutes then add the ginger garlic paste and cook, stirring for 2-3 minutes until it loses its raw taste.

Stir in the powdered spices, add the tomatoes and sauté for 2 minutes.

Add the chicken and salt, cook on a low heat for 2 minutes, then add 400ml water. Bring to a simmer then add the potatoes and cauliflower.

Cook for about 20min until the chicken and potato is cooked.

Serve sprinkled with chopped coriander.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bengali Chicken Stew.

  1. Stef says:

    What a great friend!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    Very tasty. Yes Andy’s curry experience was wonderful.

Leave a Reply

