Very Strawberry, Strawberry Milkshake.

Monday 6th June 2011

Our strawberries are decomposing faster than we can eat them in this warm weather. Even if I leave them in the fridge they still don’t seem to last longer than a day.

It was late afternoon and Zephy, my son, was getting ratty. This tends to happen when he need food. An injection of energy usually sorts the problem out. And 500g of Andalucia’s finest was gonna be just that.

“Come on Zeph, Do you want to make a milkshake?” I asked encouragingly.

“NO…” Came the reply.

“Come on…”

“What milkshake?” He demanded to know.

“Strawberry.” I said.

This seemed to do the trick because he reluctantly agreed to push the button on the food processor. Watching the strawberries get pulverised to bits seemed to lift his spirits.

I gave him a big glass full with a straw and everybody else a little taster and we all sat on the balcony to drink them. It was a squash & a squeeze but it was worth it.

“I know it sounds stupid but it tastes very strawberry like.” Said Mum.

20110606-103415.jpg

The straw was a Power Ranger. 🙂

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Drinks, Fruit and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Very Strawberry, Strawberry Milkshake.

  1. rutheh says:

    Summer in a glass!

  2. Stef says:

    Isn’t it so funny when kids gets so cranky when they are hungry (or sleepy) – and yet, they don’t ‘seem’ to want to eat (or sleep)… But when they do, they’re like new people!

    I’m the same way. (Slightly embarrassing to admit that, but it’s true….) 🙂

Leave a Reply

