Mid-Week Fry Up.

Thursday 9th June 2011

We were running late so I thought I’d wipe up a quick fry up. To do this for one person would have taken 10 minutes from start to finish but my ‘quick fry up’ took me an hour! Trying to keep 5 plates spinning at the same time (Metaphorically speaking of course.) takes some doing.

Tomatoes go in the oven first. I cut a cross in the halved tomatoes then salt, pepper, olive oil & a squirt of honey.

Sausages next. Low heat, keep turning them.

Then mushrooms are washed and thrown into a pot with butter, olive oil, salt n’ pepper. High heat for a few minutes then a slow simmer to soften them up.

The bacon takes ages. I get quite a thin bacon which burns easily so I’ve got to watch it carefully. Also, my frying pan can only take about 4 rashers at a time so to do 20 rashers takes 5 rounds. Time consuming!

And finally the eggs, which need to be hot and not slimy. Keeping it all warm and on time takes some juggling.

I think next time, if I’m looking for a quick meal, I’ll make popcorn. 😉

20110609-083705.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Pork, Vegetarianish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mid-Week Fry Up.

  1. Stef says:

    I definitely think popcorn would be easier. 😉 My recipe for this week (to be posted on Sunday) will be kale chips – another nice option!

    [http://savorysundays.wordpress.com/]

Leave a Reply

