Pan-Fried Prawns with Pernod.

Saturday 11th June 2011

The first day is always shopping day when we arrive in France. It’s a great big hypermarket that we go to which has everything you could ever need, and some. We don’t use the big supermarkets at home because they are out of the city centre and you generally need a car to get to them. It’s quite a treat for me to be able to get everything under one roof and to have choice. The shopping in Barcelona is much more local, which means I may have to go to as many as 10 different shops to get all my shopping. It has it’s pros and cons but as with everything it’s good to have a change every now & again.

Going shopping with Mum & Dad used to be the highlight of my week when I was 10 years old. We used to drive to the brand new ‘Tesco’s’, which was out of town. This was in the last 70s so it almost felt like I was being taken to Disneyland. The big supermarkets were something we only ever saw in American movie.

Right at the back of the shop was the bakery and a heated glass cabinet where they sold hot sausage rolls, pasties & pies. I used to make a bee-line for the chicken & mushroom pies as soon as I walked onto the premises. I was allowed to eat the warm pie as I walked around doing the rest of the shopping with Mum & Dad as long as I put the empty bag in the trolley once I’d finished so we could pay for it at the end. Mum was always a bit worried about doing this, whereas Dad actively encouraged it.

Like me, my son also makes a bee-line for the chicken, but this time a bag of pre-cooked chicken wings. We only get them when we come here. They come in various marinades, of which he chooses a different one each time we come. I kinda like the fact that they don’t sell them at home. It gives him something to look forward to when we come here not to mention it’s a great way to entice him into going shopping. 😉

“How were the prawns Zeph?”

“Good.”

“Better than normal?”

“Yeah.”

“Why?”

“Dunno, they were just…better.”

20110611-080703.jpg

This entry was posted in Lunch, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pan-Fried Prawns with Pernod.

  1. Stef says:

    Why were the prawns better? As you said, “as with everything it’s good to have a change every now & again” 😉

Leave a Reply

