Moules Roquefort et Frites.

Wednesday 15th June 2011

Back from our weekend in France with a boot full of goodies. Only because we bought far too much food for just a few days away.

Eyes bigger than our bellies. 😉

The mussels were good until the 15th but I was still super-wary as I pulled out the ones with broken shells and the unopened ones. My cautiousness was heightened by my wife’s constant kvetching about how fishy they smelt.

Undeterred, I pushed on.

We all sat down to eat with the steaming pot of mussels in the centre of the table. Even when cooked some of the moules don’t open, these also have to be discarded.

“Don’t eat that one Zeph. Put it in there.” My wife advised.

“Why?” Came the reply.

“Because if they don’t open, they’re bad so you have to throw them away. Have that one instead.” I said.

As soon as it came out of my mouth I knew we were going to be sitting at the dinner table a long time.

“Is this one alright?” He asked holding up a closed mussel.

“No, not that one.” I said getting myself comfortable.

“Is this one alright to eat?” He asked holding up an open mussel.

“Yup, that one’s good.”

“Is this one alright?”

“Yeah…”

“Is this one alright?”

“Yup, that one’s fine.”

“Is this one alright?”

“Yes…”

“Is this one alright?…”

20110615-090712.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Potatoes, Seafood and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Moules Roquefort et Frites.

  1. janeedwards2324 says:

    My taste in food is quite different to my boyfriends, so, along with kidneys, I don’t get to have mussels that often at home. Plus you have them with frites!! It just doesn’t get any better. It looks perfect bro.

    Thank god he likes chinese food.

  2. Stef says:

    It’s like Twenty Questions, only the same one gets asked 20 times…. 😉

  3. roger edwards says:

    i hope you had mayo with the chips
    i am a wierdo with mussels . i like to de-shell them all before eating . the other way is too fiddly and i get bored

Leave a Reply

