Steak Haché, Savoury Rice & Sautéed Asparagus.

Friday 17h June 2011

Ok, I admit it. After months of stubbornly trying to ignore it, I’m now ready to come to terms with the fact that perhaps my son, Zephyrus, doesn’t like dry hunks of fat free meat, a.k.a 5% fat beefburgers.
There I’ve said it now. It’s a load off and I’m possibly a better man for doing it. 😉

My wife has been saying it for ages but, I, being the principle provider of all things edible, have been stead fast in my opinion that “he isn’t hungry” or “it was a big portion”.

He seems to be able to cope with fatty lamb chops or a juicy entrecôte. It’s just the reduced fat burgers that I insist on buying, thinking it’s better to eat the meat rather than the fat, not taking into account that the fat part moistens the meat part and makes it easier to go down.

I asked him what it was about burgers that he wasn’t keen on.

“What, the ones with the bread?”

He means a burger in a bun.

“No, the ones we get from France.”

“Oh. No, the ones with the bread, I like but the other ones I hate.” He informed me rather more bluntly than I had expected.

As you can see from the photo, it is a fair sized beauty and to be honest, he did well to get through half of it. The good thing is the penny has dropped for me now & maybe a tofu creation is on the cards. 😉

20110617-100747.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Rice, Vegetarianish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Steak Haché, Savoury Rice & Sautéed Asparagus.

  1. Stef says:

    Your sides look beautiful; and I think if they were served with a lovely marinated tofu steak I’d be all over it! 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    you didnt mention flavour when you talked about fat on meat.
    i loved the horse burgers

Leave a Reply

