Warm Duck Breast Salad.

Saturday 18th June 2011

More loot I brought back from France. 🙂

For the past 17 years I’ve lived about 180 kilometres from the French border. Before that, when I lived in the UK, France was just a ferry ride away & a popular school outing destination. In short, I’ve been there loads.

On school trips to Calais, in France, my priorities were sweets, switch-combs (a switchblade with a comb instead of a blade…don’t ask!) and snap bangers. In my adulthood, thankfully, my tastes & interests changed.

I’m no longer interested in sweets. 😉

When I was old enough to afford to eat in France, we got quite partial to a bit of foie gras. We indulged ourselves for a good few years before, purely by chance, we saw a tv documentary about how foie gras was made. They basically force-feed the duck or goose so its liver expands. Although we do eat meat, which has been killed for my plate, I would at least like that animal to have the best possible life before it ends up on my plate. Needless to say, we haven’t eaten foie gras since that day. It’s know big deal, I know what it tastes like.

Thankfully, My little moral stand doesn’t apply to the breast of the animal. 😉

20110618-113906.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Duck, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Warm Duck Breast Salad.

  1. Stef says:

    Snap bangers? I have no idea what those are.

    Ah, to be able to visit France as part of a school field trip…. ah, to dream. 🙂

    Yes, some of the cruelties inflicted on animals really are tragic. Yay for no fois gras.

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This is a wonderfully delicious salad you make. Yummy

  3. roger edwards says:

    you must introduce me to a piece of pink meat (a small piece) i do love my meat brown

Leave a Reply

