Sunday Roast.

Sunday 19th June 2011

“Whoa…” I said getting up from the dinner table to check the thermometer. “…there is nothing like a hot roast dinner on a Sunday afternoon.”

It was 25°C in the shade. Not boiling but a little hot to be eating a steaming hot roast dinner in flat with air conditioning.

There was a reason for this. Apart from the fact that my quest to run down my tiny 13×16 inch freezer box continues, today is father’s day. I was awoken with our traditional celebratory tray of scrabbled eggs & bacon and so I thought I’d make a bit of an effort with lunch as opposed to the normal thoughtless slop I serve up. 😉

To be honest, this was a collaboration between Mum & I. When she was over the week before last she made a beautiful, and incredibly expensive, roast beef dinner. The joint was so big there was enough for another meal. I faithfully frozen the leftovers alone with the Yorkshire puddings for a day such as this.

The carrots I roasted in a tin foil bag with rosemary, thyme, salt ‘n pepper, garlic, olive oil & a splash of white wine.

When I cooked the duck breast, I saved the fat and so roasted the potatoes in the beautiful tasting lard. Delicious.

Happy father’s day Dad. I love you.

20110619-100658.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Lunch, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sunday Roast.

  1. Stef says:

    1) You have to make dinner, even on Father’s Day? I’m not sure I like that…
    2) “Thoughless slop” – whatever. 😉
    3) Your carrots look fantastic. YUM!

  2. roger edwards says:

    that beef looks just as nice as the week before and the spuds
    i love you too son

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    The potatoes were very fluffy and crispy…just perfect. The duck fat made them even more yummy. Thanks.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    P.S: Happy Fathers Day. Sorry I didn’t make dinner…..next year I’ll make you one of my specialities like jacket potatoes!!!

Leave a Reply

